Disavowing Users

Follow

You would disavow a user that is not allowed to use the Aeon system (for example, not a registered student or instructor). Disavowing a user removes access to the Aeon web interface, and sends an email to the user stating that they have been disavowed. It will also cancel all open requests in the user's name except those requests in the following statuses:

  • Request Finished
  • Item Checked Out
  • Item Checked Out To Activity
  • Cancelled By User
  • Cancelled By Staff
  • Request Merged

Uncleared users can be disavowed in the Users Waiting to be Cleared form. Both cleared and uncleared users can be disavowed from within the User Information form. When a disavowed user attempts to submit a request, a message appears notifying the user he or she has been disavowed. To prevent staff from placing requests for disavowed users, the New Request for User button on the User Information form is deactivated when a user is disavowed.

Disavowing on the Users Waiting to be Cleared Form

Disavow uncleared individual users quickly on the Users Waiting to be Cleared form. This includes new user accounts and users whose status has been manually changed to Uncleared.

  1. Double-click the Waiting to be Cleared header in the Users Waiting to be Cleared group to access the Users Waiting to be Cleared form.
  2. Click the user that you wish to disavow in the Users To Be Cleared grid.
  3. Click the Disavow User button in the Clearing Options group of the Process ribbon.
  4. A Confirm Disavow popup warns that disavowing the user will cancel all open requests and send an email to the user. You are also asked if you would like to edit the email before it is sent.
  5. Click Yes to open and edit the email template, No to send the email without editing, and Cancel to cancel the disavow process.
  6. If No is selected, the email is automatically sent and the user is instantly disavowed and removed from the grid.

When working with users on the Users Waiting to be Cleared form, you must select and modify each user individually. You cannot select multiple users in the grid.

Disavowing on the User Information Form

You can disavow cleared and uncleared users from within the User Information form.

  1. If the user has a new account or has been manually modified to an uncleared status, double-click the user you want to disavow in the Users Waiting to be Cleared group to access the User Information form. If the user is currently cleared, perform a user search to open the User Information form.
  2. Click the Home tab to view the Access group.
  3. Click the Disavow User button.
  4. A Confirm Disavow popup warns that disavowing the user will cancel all open requests and send an email to the user. You are also asked if you would like to edit the email before it is sent.
  5. Click Yes to open and edit the email template, No to send the email without editing, and Cancel to cancel the disavow process.
  6. If you select No, the email is automatically sent and the Clearance Status changes to Disavowed.

Reinstating a User

You can reinstate a disavowed user by changing the Cleared Status from within the User Information form. Reinstating the user will reactive their logon permissions. If the user had open requests before being disavowed, these have been cancelled. The requests can be resubmitted by the user or the status for the requests can be changed from within the client. Disavowed users can only be reinstated from the User Information form; this is because the system interprets disavowed users as being "cleared".

  1. To reinstate a user, simply click the Clear User or Unclear User icon in the Home ribbon of the User Information form.
  2. Reinstated, uncleared users can now be cleared in either the Users Waiting to be Cleared form or the User Information form.

Remember that you can also clear a user by right-clicking on a User in the Users Waiting to be Cleared group and selecting Clear User.

Disavowing a User without Sending an Email

You can disavow cleared and uncleared users from within the User Information form.

  • After clicking, the Disavow User button, click Yes to open and select CancelEmail to cancel the disavow process.

Cancelling the email will not cancel the action to disavow the patron.

Questions?

If this article didn’t resolve your issue, please take a moment and answer a few questions to help improve our documentation:

Feedback