Deleting Users

Follow

Deleting users SHOULD NOT be used by any site using common user database because the server addon can not know the transactions in other databases.

Deleting Users is not reversible.

Extreme caution should be used when granting permissions.

Sites should ensure proper database backup procedures in place.

Database recovery is the only way to restore users & their associated data.

Deleting users and their associated data is a common request when a site wants to clean up old data or remove test records from their system. 

 Sites who are expecting Aeon to maintain data for security reviews (i.e. researchers checked in to reading rooms and which requests were checked out to them) should not use this functionality as deletion of users will completely remove all known data about a user including their transactions. The system will no longer have any information about the requests. 

  Documentation for the DeleteUser scripting command has been written and published.

Transaction Deletion Criteria

  • If the transaction has no researcher and the transaction's username is the same as the user being deleted, the transaction is deleted.
  • If the transaction has a researcher, but the transaction's user is being deleted, the transaction is reassigned to the researcher.
  • If the transaction has a researcher who is being deleted, the researcher is removed from the transaction, but the transaction continues to belong to the original owner.

 Records are deleted from the following tables for the specific user being removed:

Alerts

UserHistory

UserNotes

UserImages

EmailCopies

Files

FileInformation

UserChangeHistory

ProxyLink

WebSession

UserValidation

UserAccountLinks

BillingGatewayTransactionLinks

BillingGatewayTransactions

ActivityHistory

ReadingRoomHistory

Users

Questions?

If this article didn’t resolve your issue, please take a moment and answer a few questions to help improve our documentation:

Feedback