Manually Routing Requests

Follow

You can bypass the typical workflow by manually routing a request. This is helpful when a particular request needs to be put into a custom queue for specialized processing, has missed a step or needs to skip a few steps. Requests can also be routed to alternate sites within multiple site systems. Route requests from the request list or the Request form using the Route button. You can create Menu Groups that organize existing valid queues into custom groups for easier viewing. You can also route requests using the Next Step button located on the Request list and Request form for certain statuses (such as In Item Retrieval).

Routing a Request from the Request Form

To route a request from the Request form:

  1. Click the Route button on the Home ribbon (or Process ribbon if you are routing a request through the photoduplication workflow).
  2. Choose the status that the request should be routed to.
  3. You will see that the request status changes to the new status that was selected.

Routing a Request from the Request List

You can select and route several requests at once when routing from the Request list. To route requests from the Request list:

  1. Choose the Request(s) from the grid.
  2. Click the Route button on the Process ribbon.
  3. Choose the status that the request(s) should be routed to.
  4. The request(s) will disappear from the grid after being routed because they have moved to the chosen status queue.

Routing a Request to Alternate Sites in a Multiple Site System

You can route requests to other sites on a multiple site system using the Route button on the Request form or the Request list. Depending upon whether or not you have permissions to access a site, the request will close or remain open after it is routed.

How Multiple Site Systems Work

Each main site on a system has its own views on the SQL server database. Each view indicates which requests a site can access. Which sites you have permissions to access is determined by the DBC username. If the DBC username is "aeon" the user will have access to all requests in the system.

Routing to Sites You Have Permissions to Access

If you route the request to a site that you have permissions to access, the request will remain open after routing. You can make changes to the transaction information or print call slips, for example, without having to reopen the request. In the example below, the user has permissions to access the ONY site and is routing the request to another location within that site.

  1. To route from the Request list, choose the Request(s) from the grid. To route from the Request form, open the Request.
  2. Click the Route button from the Home or Process ribbon.
  3. Click the Change Site menu option.
  4. Choose the main site (and child site, if applicable) from the submenu.
  5. The Request form remains open and the new site is reflected in the Site column.
  6. When you have finished working with the request, save your changes and close the Request form.

Routing to Sites You Do Not Have Permissions to Access

If you route the request to a site you do not have permissions to access, the request will close after routing and you will no longer have access to the request. If you attempt to reopen the request, an error message will display informing you that you can no longer view the request. In the example below, the user has permissions to access the ONY site and is routing the request to the NAXX site.

  1. To route from the Request list, choose the Request(s) from the grid. To route from the Request form, open the Request.
  2. Click the Route button from the Home or Process ribbon.
  3. Click the Change Site menu option.
  4. Choose the alternate site (and child site, if applicable) from the submenu.
  5. The request is routed to the new location, and the Request form closes.
  6. Attempting to reopen the request results in an error message.

If you have made unsaved changes to a request and attempt to route the request to an alternate site you will be prompted to save your changes before the request is routed. Choosing Yes saves your changes and routes the request. Choosing No cancels your changes and routes the request and choosing Cancel returns you to the Request form.

Questions?

If this article didn’t resolve your issue, please take a moment and answer a few questions to help improve our documentation:

Feedback