The Course Form

Follow

The Course form holds all information pertaining to a particular course such as course details, students and proxies assigned to the course, and the items requested or submitted for the course. Along with editing the specific information, adding users or proxies, or editing items reserved for a course, staff can clone and delete courses and add new items to a course from the Course form. Locate the course using the Search Courses feature. Click on the desired course in the list of results to open the Course form. You can also access the Course form from within the Instructor's User form and the Item form. The Course form is comprised of the Home ribbon and four tabs: Details, Cross-Listings, Course Items and Course Users. The Course form automatically opens displaying the Home ribbon and the Details tab.

The Ribbon

The Home ribbon of the Course form is comprised of an Options group containing commands to use for cloning and deleting courses as well as adding reserve items.

Delete Course

Opens a Delete Confirmation form asking if you want to remove the
course from the database.

Clone Course

Opens the Clone Course form allowing you to close the course to
a new course.

Add Item

Opens a new Item form for you to add a new item to the course.

The Details Tab

All course information added when the course was created is displayed on the Details tab. View, add and edit basic course information, such as the course name, start and stop dates, default pickup location or other information that may be incorrect or have changed. You can also assign a course password here. Fields that you edit are highlighted until the changes have been saved using the Save icon. If you attempt to close the Course form before saving your changes a popup box prompts you to save your changes.

Course Details Group

Field Name

Database Fieldname

Field Entries

Field Specifications

Course Name

CourseName

 

 

Course ID

CourseID

 

Read-only field

Description

Description

 

 

Course Code

CourseCode

 

 

URL

URL

 

 

Course Number

CourseNumber

 

 

Department

Department

Populated from CustomDropDown table.

Value must match an entry in the list.

Default Pickup Site

DefaultPickupSite

Populated from DefaultPickupSite key.

Value must match an entry in the list. Value is required.

Course Password

CoursePassword

 

 

Max Copyright Cost

MaxCopyright

 

 

External Course ID

ExternalCourseID

 

 

Registrar Course ID

RegistrarCourseID

 

 

Semester Details Group

Field Name

Database Fieldname

Field Entries

Field Specifications

Semester

Semester

Initial value is current semester

List of semesters, descending order by start date.

Override Semester Start/Stop Dates?

 

 

Checkbox

Start Date

StartDate

Initial value is start date of the chosen semester.

Disabled unless option to override is checked.

Stop Date

StopDate

Initial value is stop date of the chosen semester.

Disabled unless option to override is checked.

User Information Group

Field Name

Database Fieldname

Field Entries

Field Specifications

Instructor Username

 

Populated from Users table where UserType = 'Instructor'.

Must be a value from the list. Value is required.

Displayed Instructor(s)

 

Choose from displayed Instructor(s).

 

Estimated Enrollment

CourseEnrollment

 

 

Registered Users

 

Display count of Users

UserType = 'User'. The registered user count  includes only course users of type 'User'. Instructors and proxies are not longer included.

Note that if you change the value in the Instructor Username field, Ares does not warn you by highlighting the field yellow. When you hover over the field a tooltip displays, warning that Changes to the Instructor Username will be immediately saved.

The Cross-Listings Tab

The Cross-Listings tab on the Course form allows staff to add and delete cross-listings for a course. Cross listings are added to the grid located on the tab. Visible on the form are any cross-listings that may have been added by staff or by an Instructor or proxy using their web account. Cross-listing information from the web is loaded to the form when the staff user accesses the Cross Listings tab for the first time. Clicking the Refresh button in the Quick Access Toolbar refreshes the list when you are on the Cross Listings tab and also updates the data, once it has been accessed, when you are on the Course form. Cross listings added to the tab must be saved using the Save icon before changes take effect. Unsaved listings prompt a confirmation message when you attempt to leave the form. The cross-listings grid displays all fields from the CrossListCourse table. 

The fields visible on the form, and their database field name along with field specifications are shown below:

Field Name

Database Field Name

Field Specifications

Department

Department

Based on values in CustomDropDown table

Course Number

CourseNumber

 

Course Name

Name

 

Course Code

CourseCode

 

The Course Items Tab

The Course Items tab on the Course form contains a list of all reserve items requested for a course. Double-clicking on a reserve item in the Course Items list opens the Item form to view or edit the item. Item information is loaded to the list when the staff user accesses the Course Items tab for the first time. Clicking the Refresh button in the Quick Access Toolbar refreshes the list when you are on the Course Items tab and also updates the data, once it has been accessed, when you are on the Course form. The Course Items grid displays all fields from the Items table.

The Course Items ribbon houses a Clone and Add Item button.

Course Items Count

The Course Items tab displays the number of items available and the total number of items in the course. Updated counts are loaded to the tab when the Course form is opened.

The Course Users Tab

Add, delete and view enrolled students, authorized users and course proxies for a course from the Course Users tab. Course User information from the client or web is loaded to the form when the staff user accesses a specific Course Users tab for the first time. Typing an Ares Username or Library ID into the text box located on the tab activates the Add button on the content-sensitive ribbon. The Delete button is used to remove one or more users as a student, enrolled user or course proxy. Additions and deletions must be saved using the Save icon before changes take effect. Unsaved changes prompt a confirmation message when you attempt to leave the Course Users form. Clicking the Refresh button in the Quick Access Toolbar refreshes the list when you are on the Course Users tab and also updates the data, once it has been accessed, when you are on the Course form.

Note that users who are listed as both a course and full proxy for an instructor will display under the Full Proxies tab only. Also, full proxies can be viewed from the Course Users tab but cannot be added or deleted. Adding and deleting users as full proxies is done from the User form.

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.