Web users are able to apply Shared Lists to Courses and these changes will be saved to the database. In order for these options to appear on the Ares Web Pages, you must first add some code and make some modifications. Instructions for this can be found in Configuring Shared Lists on the Web.
Adding a List to a Course
Once applied, the Course will be associated with the Shared List via the CourseSharedListsLink table and an Item will be added to the Course for each Shared List Item. When the new course Items are created, the 'CopyrightRequired' and 'CopyrightObtained' fields will be set using the same rules as to when cloning an Item, based on the RequireCopyrightClonedItems customization key. The status line that is shown can be customized by modifying the SLApplySharedList key in the Ares Customization Manager.
- From the Main Menu, click on a current course to open the Course Details.
- Click Add Reserve Items from the Instructor Course Tools on the left menu.
- You will see a section Or would you like to apply a Shared List to this course?
- Click on the Shared List you want to apply to the course.
- A list of the Shared List Items in the Shared List will appear.
- Click Apply Shared List.
- You will be taken back to the Course Details page, and a confirmation message will appear.
The Shared Lists that are visible to the user when adding a Reserve Item to a Course depends on the user's relationship to the Course and the type of Shared Lists being displayed.
- When viewing Instructor Shared Lists, the user will see any Instructor Shared List with a reference that matches their username, the username of an Instructor for whom they are a full proxy, or the course Instructor if they are a course proxy for that course.
- When viewing department Shared Lists, the user will see any department Shared List with a reference that matches their department, the department of an Instructor for whom they are a full proxy, or the department of the course Instructor if they are a course proxy for that course.
- System Shared Lists are only viewable to Staff users in the Ares client and cannot be viewed on the web interface.
Removing a Shared List from a Course
Users can remove or "disassociate" a Shared List from a Course. Note that disassociating a Course from a Shared List will not delete or cancel the Course Items that were created from the Shared List's Items.
- Click on View Shared Lists from the Shared List Tools menu on the left.
- Click on the Shared List you want to remove.
- Courses will appear under the heading Courses associated with this Shared List.
- Click Disassociate next to the Course you want to remove.
- A pop-up will appear, click OK to remove the Course from the Shared List.
The status line that is shown can be customized by modifying the SLDisassociateSharedList key in the Ares Customization Manager.