Adding New Staff Users

Follow

You add your Ares staff users to the system from within the Staff Manager. When you add a staff user, you assign user permissions allowing or denying the user access to each of the Ares components. You can also assign the user a specific client layout and add a description to the staff user's profile (i.e., "student employee").

Adding a Staff User as a New User

This method is best used when you want to create a brand new user with an atypical set of permissions. Once the staff user has been added, add a user description, set staff user permissions and copy layout and grid settings from another user, if desired.

  1. Click the New User button on the Home ribbon.
  2. Input the new staff user's username and password. You will need to enter the password twice.
  3. Click the OK button.
  4. Edit User Details such as entering the user's last and first names and add User Permissions for the new user.
  5. Click Save to save your changes.
  6. If you would like to set client layout and grid defaults by copying another user's setting, you can do that now.

Adding a Staff User by Copying a Current User

This method is best used when you want to create a new user that has the same privileges, or most of the same privileges, as another user. The new user will inherit all of the user details, permissions, and client layout settings from the source user. Typically it is most helpful when your staff is split into groups that all have the same privileges (student staff, for example), because it saves you the time of having to specify permissions and client layout settings for the new user.

  1. Select a staff user from the User grid who has the settings that you want to duplicate for your new user.
  2. Click the Copy User button on the Home ribbon.
  3. Input the new staff user's username and password. You will need to enter the password twice.
  4. Click the OK button.
  5. Edit User Details such as changing the user's last and first names and change User Permissions for the new user if necessary.
  6. Click Save to save your changes.
  7. If you would want to set new client layout and grid defaults by copying another user's setting, you can do that now.
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.