Temporarily Block Web Users for Failed Login Attempts

Print Friendly and PDF Follow

In ILLiad 9.1, the capability to temporarily block a web user after a configurable number of failed login attempts was added. If the UsingUserLockout Customization Key is enabled, Borrowing patrons will be locked out after failing a number of login attempts on the web; which is determined by the UserLoginAttemptsBeforeLock Customization Key. Successfully logging in before they are locked out will reset their FailedLoginCount to 0 for future sessions. Once a user is locked out, they will have to contact library staff to unlock their account by Clearing the User and Resetting the Password on the user form in the ILLiad client. A status line can be added using the SLUserLockedOut key to notify the patron when their account has been locked.
 
Setting the UserLoginAttemptsBeforeLock customization key to a value of 0 or lower will not disable the feature, but instead lock the user after a single failed attempt. If you want to disable this feature, you can either set the UsingUserLockout customization key to No or set the UserLoginAttemptsBeforeLock customization key to an extremely high number (not recommended).

Questions?

If this article didn’t resolve your issue, please take a moment and answer a few questions to help improve our documentation:

Feedback