Automatic Expiration of Users

Print Friendly and PDF Follow

To support Automatic User Creation, sites will be able to force patrons to update their user information with the new cleared value, EXP (expired), as of ILLiad v9.1. 
 
As a part of the Automatic User Creation behavior, if a user has a ClearedValue of New, the WebValidation will evaluate the existing values in their User Record. Once the values pass validation, the user's ClearedValue will be set to Yes or No depending on the value of the AutoClearPreRegisteredUsers Customization Key. If enough data has been imported to meet WebValidations and the AutoClearPreRegisteredUser key is set to Yes, the user record will be created without requiring the user to fill out the NewAuthRegistration form. Note: This behavior may have been forced in the past by changing the user's cleared value to New. For patrons who already have a user record, they can be forced to update their user record through the use of Automatic Expiration. 
 

Customization Keys

As a part of the Automatic User Expiration feature, 4 new Customization Keys were added to the Customization Manager in v9.1 under System | User Expiration
  • AutoExpireUsers: Determines if the System should automatically expire users. If set to yes, the system will set the cleared value of expired users to the value specified by the 'AutoExpireUsersClearedValue' key. The default value is set to No.
    Example: Yes, No
  • AutoExpireUsersClearedValue: The cleared value the System Manager will set for expired users. The default value is set to EXP. Note: The value will not be added to the user record unless the 'AutoExpireUsers' key is set to Yes.
    Examples: EXP (expired) or B (Blocked)
  • RenewedUsersClearedValue: The cleared status for expired users is set to this key-value after a user has reviewed and updated their user information. The default value is set to No. Note: The value will not be added to the user record unless the 'AutoExpireUsersClearedValue' key is set to EXP.
    Example: Yes, No
  • AutoUpdateExpiration: Determines if the user's expiration date will be updated any time a user updates their user information. The default value is set to No.
    Example: Yes, No
Instances the "UserValidation" customization key (not the table) have been removed from the databases.
 

New ExpiredUsers.HTML Page

In the default web pages for v9.1, a new ExpiredUsers.HTML page has been added for expired patrons to update/change user information. The ILLiadFormName should be titled ExpiredUsers to match the WebValidation name, ExpiredUsers. This web page is similar to the ChangeUserInformation.HTML page except this page may require more or fewer fields to be updated by the patron depending on your institution's requirements. For example, the First/Last Name fields may be read-only for users who were expired versus users who choose to update their records. 
 
This page will not exist by default. The ILLiadFormName 'ExpiredUsers' should be added to the WebValidation table.

How Auto Expire Works in the Background 

Expired Patron Updates User Information 

The DLL has been updated to force a user who has a Cleared Value of EXP to update their user information after attempting to log into the Web Interface. Users will not be able to access any other parts of the system until they update and submit their user information.
  1. The user will be directed to the ExpiredUsers form (using the ExpiredUsers.html page).
    • If the ExpiredUsers.HTML page does not exist, the user will be directed to the ChangeUserInformation.HTML page.
  2. After the user updates their information and submits the form, the user's Cleared Value will be set to the value of the 'RenewedUsersClearedValue' key.

System Manager Expired User Check

The System Manager now has a process that checks for expired users and sets the users' ClearedValue according to the Customization Keys above.
  1. The System Manager will first check the 'AutoExpireUsers' key to determine if it should run the check for expired users or not.
  2. If AutoExpireUsers is set to Yes, the System Manager will then look for expired users,
    1. Expired users will have a Cleared Value of Yes and an Expiration Date that is earlier than the current date.
  3. The System Manager will then check the 'AutoExpireUsersClearedValue' key value and set this value as the Cleared Value for all expired users found in the previous step.
    • If the System Manager can't find a value for this key, it will use the default EXP.
The System Manager will run this process for expired users upon startup. Once the process has been completed, the System Manager will run this check once every 12 hours.
 
 
 

 
 

Questions?

If this article didn’t resolve your issue, please take a moment and answer a few questions to help improve our documentation:

Feedback