Staff User Permissions

Follow

Restricting a staff user by the site will only affect the Staff Manager, Customization Manager, Billing Manager, Database Manager, and Web Circulation. This will not affect the staff user's access to the main ILLiad client.

For example, if you have a shared server setup and use the NVTGCs of ILL, ABC, and XYZ, a staff user will be able to access the ILLiad clients for all of those sites at a specific workstation if 1) those sites are configured with the SQL Alias Manager to be available on the specific workstation, and 2) the staff user is given any level of access in the ILLiad Staff Manager. If you were to restrict a certain staff user to only ABC in the ILLiad Staff Manager, that means that they will not be able to access the Staff Manager, Customization Manager, etc. for the ILL and XYZ sites, but they will still be able to access the main ILLiad client for ILL, ABC, and XYZ. 

Copying Permissions

You can copy Module Permissions from one existing user to another existing user.

  1. Select the Copy Permissions icon on the ribbon.
  2. A popup box displays the user you will Copy From. You can change to another user by clicking in the grid.
  3. Use the drop-down box to select the user you want to copy to.
  4. Click Copy Permissions.

Copying Layout and Grid Settings

You can copy layout and grid settings from one existing user to another existing user.

  1. Select the Copy Layout and Grid Settings icon on the ribbon.
  2. A popup box shows the user you will Copy From. You can change to another user by clicking in the grid.
  3. Use the drop-down box to select the user you want to copy to.
  4. Click Copy Layout & Grid Settings.
  5. When the user logs into the Client their layout and grid settings will be formatted identical to those of the user you copied.

Questions?

If this article didn’t resolve your issue, please take a moment and answer a few questions to help improve our documentation:

Feedback